The book launch syndrome

Image

I’m sitting on the sofa looking out of the window, my mind in a thousand places. My eyes have glazed over, and my mind is blank. It was a similar feeling a week before my marriage and I went through the same motions when my first child was born. Tens of questions come up to mind every minute, and there is little I can do to get them out of my mind.

There is little else I can talk about to, and many at home have begun to avoid me. As soon as they look at me and ask ‘How are you?’ or something as disconnected as ‘Want chai?’ I launch off on one of my stories of what all is happening ‘out there at the publishers end’.

And before everyone collectively brands me as ‘gone-case’, I decided to vent out my feelings here. These are my book launch symptoms. Yes, I’ve brought out my first novel with Indireads. It’s called ‘Canvas of Dreams’ and is woman’s story in the la-la land of love. I am as excited, as I am jittery. The feelings are mixed, confusing. And if a psychotherapist would see me now, he would probably give this a technical name too.

The good side is that I’ve finally brought it out, published it, something I have been meaning to do for a long time now. And there are other authors, many first-timers like me in this venture. I’m glad we’re in this together. I’m happy that we’re going through the motions together, that we have a sounding board to bounce off our fears and concerns. Good luck and all the power to us!

PS: For all those interested in previewing it, here’s the link. http://www.indireads.com/books/canvas-of-dreams/

About Jaya Siva Murty

I am an author, a freelance writer, social media consultant and a full-time mother of two little kids. After a short span of working as an advertising copywriter, I went on to write for daily publications and magazines. I love writing poetry and fiction and am also the proud author of my first novella called 'Canvas of Dreams' at www.indireads.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

