The blog on why I rarely blog

I envy all those people who have something wonderful to blog about every week. I for one am from those-lazy-types, who gets great ideas but is too lazy to switch on the comp and key them in. And then there are those stories with their set of issues.

The starting problem

Under this category come those great story ideas that I don’t know how to start. The whole story is in there inside my mind. I know what to tell and how to end it. But that great lead-in, that much-needed hook is missing. And after five tries (okay, I said five for effect) I decide to store it in my head for a further period of time.

The mid-life crisis

These are the stories that are going through the same phase as I am. The lead in reads like a rocket. It holds promise, excitement and a promise for excitement. And then it falls flat after that, resembling a hero who’s been punched in the face after showing all hope to be the handsome hunk with the brain of a supercomputer.

The ending

These are often the easiest to rewrite. After all, with a great start and a great push in the middle, the story will end somewhere. But then there are endings that just don’t tie up. Like what happens to the heroine when there are two handsome villains in the story, you know that type. And so, because of the drab ending, the story goes into an obscure folder which is called either j1 or story2 and can never be found again.

The reality-breaks

These are perfectly formed stories that don’t get written because of reality bytes. The kid’s poo-poo needs to be cleaned. I know, many people believe that the kid’s poo-poo is more important than the heroine’s life that is hanging by a thread of letters. And as I rise up to the reality-call, the heroine falls down.

While the ones above are just four of the reasons why I don’t blog so regularly, there are many many more. The doorbell, the maid, the cyclone (Phailin deserves another special blog), power cuts, lack of motivation, the kaun-likega phase etc. But I don’t want this blog to be too long so I’m ending it here. Bye-bye. (See now you know what I mean by a bad ending. I really hate the way this story ends, but then mosquitoes are biting and I need to get the repellent, before the kid uses it like glue.)

About Jaya Siva Murty

I am an author, a freelance writer, social media consultant and a full-time mother of two little kids. After a short span of working as an advertising copywriter, I went on to write for daily publications and magazines. I love writing poetry and fiction and am also the proud author of my first novella called 'Canvas of Dreams' at www.indireads.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

