A plea to the daughter

It’s amazing to see how fast kids grow, from being messy toddlers to mature adults. And it’s fascinating to see the roles reverse. Right from you being the one who told them how to do things, they take the lead on how to get things going – Dear daughter, where did that time go – I do miss it a bit 🙂 Here’s a little poem, inspired by one of the summer-cleaning afternoons spent with her.

The torn towel, the hole-y sock,

Can be used as a scrub, can be used as a mop,

It has potential

The silk sari with a big gravy patch,

Can be made into scarves, your dress it will match,

It has potential.

The blue bedsheet with spots of green,

When it met the new color in the washing machine,

It has potential.

I will make a scarf, or a shopping bag,

A doormat, a table mat…if it’s bad then a cleaning rag,

Don’t throw those shirts, you wore them when you were small,

It’s a cute reminder of when you weren’t this tall.

I know that kurta looks shabby and has lost its shine,

But my mother taught me to stitch that once upon a time,

That shirt from yore, will fit me one day –  I strongly feel,

It brings back a time when I was young and carefree,

Don’t throw them all, don’t spring clean away,

Torn and faded, is a memory bouquet.

About Jaya Siva Murty

I am an author, a freelance writer, social media consultant and a full-time mother of two little kids. After a short span of working as an advertising copywriter, I went on to write for daily publications and magazines. I love writing poetry and fiction and am also the proud author of my first novella called 'Canvas of Dreams' at www.indireads.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment